Gps With Built In Camera?

Is it worth spending more money to get a GPS with a built in camera? Since I am not very good at marking waypoints and generally get confused on all the numerous GPS functions, I was wondering if the camera equipped units could record a photo of my current location and mark it for me automatically as a waypoint? Sure wish there was a GPS that only had basic functions, and a compass pointer and could still get me back to my car after a day in the woods and be water resistant and under $150? The camera units are upwards of $400-600 from Garmin, which is a bit steep for me.

I never understood why GPS, cell phone, and digital camera and camcorder makers have to pack in hundreds of functions on their gizmos, which mostly confuse the users?

I hardly use my dedicated GPS, prefer smart phone with map app that doesn`t require a mobile conx. Camera and all those other features are there, save waypoints, tracks etc same as dedicated GPS. Only con for me is it is not waterproof nor as rugged.

tvanho, if you are comfortable with your iPhone or Android phone I agree with Norvic that you already have a gps and camera and compass.  Get a purpose built rugged case if it's something you'll take in the bush.  I use google maps on both android and iphone and it's adequate for basics and is simpler than a dedicated gps for sure.  Very few menus to figure out and if you use google maps on a computer easier yet.

I use my phone gps for off and on road vehicular travel, cause I always have my phone then.  When I'm in the bush I use a dedicated gps 'cause I'm a gadget guy,  my dedicated gps has better location performance (be sure to get a dual mode glasnoss/gps), I like and use a lot of the features, it's inherently much much more rigged.

As far as a camera helping you with general gps usage, I dunno.  Never thought of it 'til I read your post.