New Member From Arizona

Hey everyone,

Been stopping by the forum for some time, and now that the heat has chased me off my usual spot, I have some time to say hello:) I am new to detecting, mainly sluice in the past and now dry washing/detecting.  I have yet to actually find any gold detecting, but I have been working some hard worked sites.  I have detected the Weaver claims, GPAA claims in Black Canyon and Mayer without luck.  The dry washer on the other hand has been successful everywhere I set it up.  Not huge quantities mind you, but some color every time.  

I haven't given up on the detector yet.  I am running a SDC2300 (fits my level of experience and love the compact size).  What I have been impressed with is just how small and deep it picks up metal.  I am sure this is nothing new for you folks, but I am talking about tiny metal shavings 6" deep and small 22 casings up to a foot down.  I know this guy is touted as a small/shallow gold detector, but it truly does seam to find more than expected and advertised.  I am running it on the stock setting with the Rattler headphone.  The minelab headphone set kept falling off my head and the ear piece connector came apart on the second trip so I purchased the adapter and moved on.  The other thing that impresses me is how it completely ignores hot rocks.  I had first tried a friends Lobo up a weaver and I was loosing all kinds of time kicking around hot rocks about every four feet of travel.  

I am looking for cooler places to detect now that summer is upon us with a vengeance.  There are not many GPAA claims in the higher elevations of Arizona.  

• Like 1

Welcome to the forum. You will learn a lot here about your 2300.