Basic Detecting Skills

I have been detecting for gold off and on since 1986 and I would like to give a little advice.

I believe there are five main things you need to do to be successful.

You need to be in a area that has big enough gold to detect.

Dig all repetitive targets.

It does not matter what sound comes out of the speaker.If it is a repetitive sound dig it. I have dug big deep gold that was nothing more than ground noise but it was a repetitive ground noise and after a scratch or two it turned into a clear target.

Learn your detector, I still learn something new about my detectors once in awhile. I see guys stuck on one setting more often than not.

Sure you dig up hot rocks with the Normal timings on the GPX's but you are also punching deeper than fine gold or sensitive extra in some ground types.

Minelab put all those timings on there because they work! Use them!!!

Swing speed SLOW DOWN!!!

I watched some videos on YouTube the other day and I can guarantee some of those people are missing gold.

The big deep nuggets need a very slow swing speed and good coil control.

Learn how to ground balance. This is what I think is one of the most important things to learn how to do successful. Do it right and do it often and you will add more gold to your poke.

Hope this helps someone, Root

• Like 6

Great reminders, thanks for taking the time.

I especially like the last point. 

Good ground balancing is a key component of detecting well.

That combined with good coil control and slow swing speed will add a lot of gold to your collection.

Coil control, coil control, coil control!!

I ran a pay to mine operation for years and have been able to watch a lot of people detect, both novices and experts.