New User Seeks Advice On First Detector

Hello. I am very new to MD. I am looking at buying my first one and looking for any advice on what to  get. I will be detecting on lakes, beaches and in the piney woods of texas. Ground is going to be a mixture of hard soil some soft and beach sand at times. It will be in creek beds,lake water and every once in a while the beach. I am not looking for the cheapest but not the most expensive either. My budget will be some where around $200.00 and $800.00. I have looked at the Garret AT pro. And the T2 SE.  But if their is something different or better please share and let me know

So what do you guys think. 

Welcome to the forum!

47 minutes ago, richard t said:

It will be in creek beds,lake water and every once in a while the beach

If you spend much time in and around water, then waterproof is a plus. And that makes the AT Pro a good place to start. Great all around detector. Do be aware of the new AT Max due out in August.

You can find good and bad commentary on any detector. Don't pay too much attention to it. Since you are new stick with a very well known name brand with good accessory availability. The popular brands all make very good detectors and with few exceptions there are no real turkeys. The bang for the buck is now $500 - $600 and if you go with a popular brand name unit in that price range you will get a good detector with good warranty support. Go with a feature list that fits your intended use.

Again, I was keying in on waterproof, so AT Pro makes sense. It is only one of the most popular detectors ever made. A lot of people own them. That being the case, more people also complain. Even though the percentage is small, the sheer number of AT owners means stuff will happen. Whatever, Garrett makes good machines and if you have a problem, good warranty support.

Similar but more expensive model the White's MX Sport is worth a peek.