Detector Dilemna GPX or SDC?

Hi Steve, I am very new at metal detecting and have been wanting a gpx 5000 since they came out. Go to buy one and there is a new kid on the block. I'm Planning on detecting old mine sites and tailings in Virginia. Price is not an issue, but I cannot afford two, I really like the folding up to backpack size and waterproof sdc 2300, but still want to buy the best detector for what I am doing. I have read all your articles and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I have only used a very cheap Tesoro and would value your opinion as to purchasing a sdc 2300 for simplicity or Gpx 5000 and learning all the different settings. I know you said if you only had 1 detector it would be a gpx 5000 and am leaning towards that. Thank you for your time.

Junkman.... If you purchase a 5000 from a good reputable dealer who also offers training, you will see that the 5000 is not as complex as you think it is.

Junkman wrote "I'm Planning on detecting old mine sites and tailings in Virginia" 

Junkman, I hope you have a strong back and good knees if it is your plan to detect these types of sites with a PI only. Of course gold fever will get you through digging massive amounts of junk at first but after the romance wanes you may regret your earlier decision.

Think VLF. Good luck in whatever you decide.

Really tough question because I tend to agree with goldbrick. If you were inviting me and I was getting on a plane tomorrow with one detector it would be a good VLF.

It may take a rocket scientist to understand every GPX setting and how they all interact exactly but very few people ever get that far. You boot it up in the stock General setting, bump the gain up, ground balance, and go detecting. If you get into hot rocks that General cannot handle, flip to Fine Gold, adjust the gain and ground balance again, and off you go. In practice the GPX is pretty easy to operate. I ran mine all summer and hardly ever changed settings.