I have been looking for a website like this for sometime now.
I am quite new to prospecting and have so many questions for you guys.
I have 4 questions today
a- Are there metal detectors that are made specifically to prospect gold only?
b- which is the best if they exist?
c- Can they locate gold at a very deep depth?
d- Can they be used on land and in water?

Look forward to receiving your replies. 

• Like 1

Welcome to the forum goldgeek.  

Unfortunately there is no detector that will ONLY detect gold.

There are detectors that will help to discriminate between ferrous and non-ferrous but even these are not 100% accurate.  Generally these are VLF detectors (have a look at the Minelab Equinox Fan Club sub-forum of Steve's for a fairly recent addition to this group of detectors). 

There are some Pulse Induction machines that have discrimination also. I have never used one but I gather that they are a long way from being 100% accurate.  

That sort of makes the rest of your questions moot. 

However, yes the PI and ZVT machines can locate gold at depth = 1-2 metres on really decent size pieces. 

Yes, many detectors are waterproof - some to >100 metres. 

Sorry to burst your bubble but hope that answers your questions :wink:

• Like 2

Hi there goldgeek. We are all gold geeks on here :biggrin:. Welcome to the forum/madhouse. Let me guide you to here. http://www.detectorprospector.com/gold-prospecting-equipment/metal-detectors-metal-detecting-accessories.htm

These are mostly detectors for searching for gold. There are a few that will do gold & coin & relic. There is quite a bit of difference in gold dedicated detectors & coin & relic detectors.

To answer your questions very quickly, there is a lot more to it which you can find out by having a very good look around this site. But

A)  No. There are gold dedicated detectors,  BUT.... they still pick up all metals & are insanely sensitive.

B) In my humble opinion. Minelab without doubt.