Sign in to follow this  
brogansown

Detectors For Coin Hunting

The group I detect with here in Eastern Oregon are mostly interested in gold hunting and we own and hunt with Minelabs, Gold  Bug 2's and a few others.  Many of my friends who are nearing retirement, have asked what I would recommend to hunt parks, schools, etc. for coins and I just don't know what to tell them, realizing that many wouldn't be able to afford some of the new machines.  Could some of you familiar with coin hunting give me a list of their favorites, including less pricey older models.  Thanks Guys.

Gary

Hi my name is Ross and I am from Australia. I have been using a Nox 600 for around 12 months and find it light enough and good for coins and parks  here in Cairns. It sells for around $800 AUS It would probably be cheaper in the US

I have and use an Equinox 800 , it seems to me to be the perfect all around detector....work for both gold and coins.

I think the x terra 705 is the pick of deals at the moment , one very versatile machine and a very good price,  there’s life in the old girl yet.    

• Like 2

The Teknetics Patriot (same as Fisher F70) is still on the market at $400, its introductory price for almost two years now.  This is an excellent coin and relic detector that has an all metal mode so can find natural gold (not the smallest gold since it operates at 13 kHz).  It comes with the F70/F75's top coil -- the 7" X 11" DD.  For those who have a budget that maxes out below $500, IMO it's got to be in the running if not the best choice.  It has the best ergonomics in the business which should be a factor, particularly for the older detectorists among us.  (I have an F75 -- its sister detector.)

• Like 1