Sign in to follow this  
Stephen wescott

Metal Detectors

Posted (edited)

I am new to metal detecting.  I just want an easy to use gold detector.  I am torn with one to get gm1000. Or ? Desert. And $800.00 and rivers in summer." I want to thanks all of you for your support.  " I am going to get gm1000. Thanks again

Edited by Stephen wescott
update
  • Like 2

Hey Stephen,  might mention where you live or plan to hunt. That can make a difference in what works best. Also a budget range, as they go from about $500 to $7000.

If it is specifically nugget detecting you are planning, you won’t find a better guide to different detectors than Steve’s. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

3 hours ago, Northeast said:

If it is specifically nugget detecting you are planning, you won’t find a better guide to different detectors than Steve’s. 

This right here.   Unbiased reviews...

You mention desert and rivers, so although the GM 1000 is excellent and you couldn't get easier to use it's not waterproof.  I'd go with an Equinox 800 if you're looking for a VLF (cheaper than PI) and being your first detector you likely are.  The Nox 800 is great for gold and at least you can use it for everything. 

Steve's guide is fantastic.  I've heavily relied on it in my time and you can rest assured his guide is unbiased, his views come from usage/experience.

You can also go to the detector database and see other users reviews

https://www.detectorprospector.com/metal-detector-database/

• Like 1

Yep, I would agree with the equinox 800 and a 6 inch coil. You can find more information on it than you ever want to know here 

And info on nugget hunting with it here

• Thanks 1

I would say you need to be more gold specific.  Are you looking for gold jewelry or gold nuggets?  If going for nuggets, while there are detectors that do both, I would stick with a detector that is tuned to JUST look for nuggets.

• Like 1

11 hours ago, Andyy said:

that is tuned to JUST look for nuggets.

Andyy;