phrunt

Best Settings On GPZ 7000 For Mild Soils

I am after some advice, I purchased a GPZ 7000 late yesterday and of course I am keen to take it out today for a test drive.  I am pretty clueless with this machine, although I've watched JW use it many times I've not paid any attention to how he runs it or what he does with it as I never thought I'd be buying one.  I think his settings may not be ideal for me yet anyway as he runs it crazy hot, being a beginner I'd probably need more tame stable settings 🙂

JW is unable to be contacted this weekend, Queenstown's big music festival of the year which JW always attends going on for the weekend so he's off at that so I can't get any advice off him for my mission today.

I was hoping GPZ users here would be able to give me some advice on what to do.    I don't have time to properly read the manual today as I've got a big drive to get to a gold spot, I was thinking I'd just do a quick start and get going but if there is something obvious I should be doing to use it in mild soils please let me know.  If the default settings are more suitable for tough soils I'd be wasting my time.  I'll have to start reading the manual tonight after I've used it today 🙂

I've ordered a 10" and 12" X-coil for it which I believe to be the best two coils for use in NZ with JW's results.  I'm also going to use the Chet method of a longer style adapter patch cable for it, I like the idea of his method and it also makes changing coils easier which I like the idea of. 

Here's my new toy.

634924603_mynewGPZ.jpg.019683ee9b0832614b312c9cd4388332.jpg

Any help greatly appreciated.

• Like 4

Congrats on the new toy Simon. Keep it as simple as possible at first. The number one move for mild soil and small gold is to go from Difficult to Normal and audio smoothing off. Then run the sensitivity just like a VLF, high as you can while staying stable. Good luck!

D606D93C-1C48-42DA-B1CF-170ED0254A97.jpeg

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1