Hello From So Cal

GotAU?

Hello feom Southern California!  I’m a returnee to metal detecting after a 45-year hiatus when I used to play with an old Heathkit MD I bought at a garage sale when I was a kid,. Wow, has the technology changed!  My background has been doing fieldwork for environmental consulting work (construction monitoring), and I have a degree in biology and minor in geology.  My wife and I are rock hounds, so we go camping a lot to collect rocks and minerals for fun on desert BLM lands.  As a biologist, I’ve also worked with bats and have done a lot of mine surveys in the Mojave and Great Basin.  Working underground has been a really interesting part of the job as I am a western US history buff as well.  So it was only natural for me to be into looking for gold too.  Ok, so back to MD’ing.... my interest is in finding pretty minerals that are shiny, as well as meteorites in the Mojave.  I recently bought a detector, and am really enjoying learning to use it. I’d really like to thank you guys for helping out with all that as I’ve learned a lot by reading all the materials on this site about it.

Cheers,

Anthony

• Like 3

Welcome to the forum Anthony. This post got by us. Your work and background with a special interest in collecting minerals is a very cool thing. My interest was in turquoise. Good luck!

• Like 1

5 hours ago, BeachHunter said:

Welcome to the forum Anthony. This post got by us. Your work and background with a special interest in collecting minerals is a very cool thing. My interest was in turquoise. Good luck!

Thank you for the welcome. This forum is really interesting, and I’ve been enjoying reading some of the old posts.  I have to admit, I really regret not doing this earlier because I’ve been to a lot of sites where I could have, would have, and should have done some detecting on my free time while I was out there. Well, at least I know they’re still out there - I just have to get going!