Junk Found In Eastern San Diego, No Gold :(

This is my first post and I'm still relatively new to detecting. Wondering if the size of my nonferrous pieces is indicative that I would miss gold. This was from about 6 hours with a Fisher F19 that I got on sale. The California ground is annoying in that it needs balancing every few steps. Anything above gain 60/100 and >0 threshold would be way too chirpy, I think that indicates decently hot ground. Got a really good feel for negative rocks, though the tones with Iron sound an awful lot like everything else. Discriminate mode blocked a lot of the chatter but it made me worry some about missing targets.

Note that I did pan good areas nearby and take samples, none of which had even the tiniest speck so I doubt I actually missed any. I'll need to take longer trips either north or east where the better claims are.

2020-05-16 12.11.28.jpg

2020-05-16 16.11.22.jpg

• Like 5

When you are first learning your detector everything you dig is a lesson the more you dig the better you’ll understand the things it is telling you. Are you looking in and area known for finding gold nuggets? I’m guessing you covered a fairly large area where you were detecting too if you got all that big stuff from a small Spot it would be challenging but not impossible. Cleaning out the trash in a known gold location allows you to hear the faint signals and properly setting your detector for the ground conditions you need to really slow down and carefully listening for the  faint tones most gold you’ll find is going to be small.  You will find a wealth of information on these topics on YouTube by a host of really experienced prospectors, look for Jeff Williams, Chris Ralph, two toes, USMinor they take the time to share their knowledge you can answer a lot of your questions Watching the videos they produce.