First let me say new to this website. And thanks for having me. Hello to all.

My AQ question is can I tell the depth of the Target by the strength of the tone. 

Does the strength of the get weaker as the target gets deeper. On equal sized targets

Thanks Gman

Yes,  the audio is modulated, the stronger the target’s return signal, the greater the audio intensity. The strength of the return signal depends on the target characteristics including the distance from the coil (depth) composition, form factor and mass.

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

Welcome! To the forum..

Yes, deep targets are just a glitter ...as your getting closer.... they get stronger and stronger. Also I am still learning but you can size, and shape out the targets. The only one's that throw me off are shallow, but lifting the coil does help and Using the edge of the coil can be a big help on sizing shallows also.

From air testing and experience I can just about tell how deep a target was once out of the sand. From the size and the very first signal I got..

Shallow micro targets will throw you off, but a kick of the sand or one scoop will tell you if there will be more scoops.

What machine are you using now and how..water..sand?

• Like 1
41 minutes ago, Gman said:

First let me say new to this website. And thanks for having me. Hello to all.

My AQ question is can I tell the depth of the Target by the strength of the tone. 

Does the strength of the get weaker as the target gets deeper. On equal sized targets

Thanks Gman

Yes and no
a 1 gr gold ring
and a 20 gr gold signet ring
at the acquisition limit, in identical / compact sand
will give exactly the same signal
the only difference will be the depth .....

• Like 1
  • Thanks 2