New To The Group Like To Introduce Myself

Tony F

Hello I would like to just introduce myself and say hi to everyone, i am from the UK just near Manchester, my name is Tony age 55, I am new to the hobby and cant wait to get started, I yet don't have a detector I'm trying to gain knowledge as what to buy,( any guidance would be appreciated I'm looking at a budget of around £500 to £600  I have been interested in the hobby for a number of years but never had chance to do anything about it until now,  

• Like 7

2 hours ago, Tony F said:

Hello I would like to just introduce myself and say hi to everyone, i am from the UK just near Manchester, my name is Tony age 55, I am new to the hobby and cant wait to get started, I yet don't have a detector I'm trying to gain knowledge as what to buy,( any guidance would be appreciated I'm looking at a budget of around £500 to £600  I have been interested in the hobby for a number of years but never had chance to do anything about it until now,  

Welcome Tony, You should be able to get lots of suggestions on detectors here. People will want to know what type of detecting you are interested in.

Hello Tony, and welcome!

As Compass said, more info will be helpful! But there are several great detectors in your price range that are pretty much turn and go! Search the forum detector reviews! You will find, and learn a great deal! This may help you hone in on a few candidates! 

Also, more will chime in with suggestions!

Good luck! And remember; questions are free!!👍👍

Tony,welcome onboard,same here i am from good old 'Blighty',one detector that possibly would fit all your needs could be the Minelab Equinox 600 as that could/would cover all your needs and within a similar price bracket as what you have suggested.Possibly the most popular range of detectors ie the Equinox 600/800 being used in the UK.

New Garrett Apex might be a good way to start. Garrett machines are stable and very easy to use.