Equinox Ground Balance Observations

longbow62

I've been using the Equinox 800 for about two years now. It's by far my favorite detector. I have found that GB is pretty important in my ground for best results. In my ground in Park2 the GB number ranges from mid 40's to mid 60's. I would say mid 40's to mid 50's average. In Park2 in the test garden if you keep the machine on default GB 0 it will not hit deeply buried coins nearly as well as when properly GB'ed. Many times I have started detecting at a spot and forgotten to GB only to then remember after awhile, and once I do the Nox comes alive. I'm sure it matters how much your ground is mineralized, and how far from 0 your Nox GB's in your ground. I have seen arguments where people say don't GB and just leave it on 0 it's not needed, but I would argue otherwise. Also would those in the know consider ground that the average GB number is in 40's-50's to be medium or highly mineralized ground?

• Like 3

I am one of the Nox users that has discussed this great topic on another forum with you so I will not comment further except to say Welcome to this very Equinox informed forum.

Hopefully you will get plenty of responses that will help you. There is also lots of information in the Equinox Essential Information section of the Equinox forum. 

There are many prospectors on this forum who prospect in really nasty ground and use the Equinox and there are others here that hunt for deep relics in bad ground in the Southeastern USA so you should get some good answers.

Jeff

• Like 1

I think you said it all when you said "with my ground". Much depends on mineralisation of the ground. Here in the UK I find leaving ground balance at 0 works fine. If I want extra depth I turn the iron bias down

Most of the beaches I hunt are GB=0. My highest GB on one salt beach is only in the '30s so I can't help but I did remember this discussion from 2018 that may help. Posted by goldbrick. Link below.