Emi Revisit

midalake

Is this an anology:  does the wind affect the sail, the hull, or both?  I think the answer to both questions is the same -- stronger effect on the sail but under certain circumstances (e.g the sail is furled) then the effect on the hull is noticeable.

OK, the analogy isn't quite perfect, because who would ever (intentionally) operate a metal detector with the coil detached?  However there have been situations here where people have reported interference when an electronic device is close the to control head but moving it away even a small distance improves things.

As a side note, IMO there is a risk in asking for expert answers.  Define 'expert'.  If you leave it up to the individual then you will drive away people who are expert but also modest while at the same time keeping those who aren't expert but have unrealistic egos.  In my case, for another analogy I (mis-)quote the old Holiday Inn Express commercial:  "I'm not an expert, but I did read detectorprospector.com last night."  :sleep:

• Like 4

I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination, but I have some experience with electromagnetic fields and interference. EMI has the potential to affect any electronic device. We live in a virtual soup of constant and intermittent EMF sources so electronic devices are being bombarded by EMI while emitting it as well. This is why electronics manufacturers go to great lengths to mitigate EMI into and produced by their devices.

Without going too far down this rabbit hole, the short answer is yes both control box and coil and even the cable of metal detectors are all susceptible to EMI. The cable is shielded and control box uses electronic EMI control, so they are less susceptible to EMI disruption, but the coil is a giant electromagnetic antenna so it is the most affected by EMI.

HTH

• Like 4