Sub Gram Coil For Gpx5000

Hello all. I’m new to this forum and am seeking advice on my detector.

I recently acquired my dads gpx5000. It’s a big step up from my ML xterra 705. He gave me 2 commander coils. An 11” mono and an 11” DD as well as a coiltek 12x18 goldstalker mono.

Previous to this, I was interested in the GM1000 because of its ability with smaller gold. My question is can I make this gpx as good or better for small gold as the GM1000 by using a smaller coil. As you can tell I’m relatively new to this. Lol

Thank you 

Steve

BC109FE2-DB4E-4574-9CC8-966E79701105.jpeg.f526b43fd4645bdad10f74aec945b35c.jpegSteve,

Welcome to the forum!

The above chart shows the performance of several Minelab Detectors including the ones you mentioned. The smaller 8 inch Commander mono coil or Coiltek Goldstalker mono 6 inch will give more sensitivity on sub-gram gold vs. the larger coils. In low minerized ground the GM 1000 will find smaller gold than the gpx 5000, but will not go as deep on larger gold.

Ron

• Like 1

The 12x8" Nugget Finder Evo coil running in Fine Gold will get you closest to the sensitivity of the Gold Monster, but will punch deeper and handle the ground a lot better. 

• Like 4

Try the Commander 11” DD coil with the Coil/RX switch set to Mono, in conjunction with the Fine Gold timing; you will effectively have an 11” x 6” pseudo-monoloop, where the left half of the coil is hot, and will be even more sensitive than the Commander 11” mono or the 12” x 8” Goldstalker, with the added benefit of being able to handle mineralized ground better than a straight mono coil. Better yet, try it with a Commander 10” x 5” DD coil.

• Like 6