Equinox 800 On Newer Canadian Coins

BMaxx

Can anyone weigh-in on the following?

I am new to the Equinox 800 and am learning the machine.  So far, finding silver and/or copper type coins does not appear to be a problem.  Generally, I get a response that clearly tells me that it is a good coin target.

However, on the newer Canadian coins that are made of steel, the detector simply does not find them well at all.  We have set up rows of these newer Canadian coins on top of the soil and the detector hardly even "sees" them.  Numbers are all over the place and basically meaningless.  Even pinpointing is difficult.

Clad US coins are easy to find because of the copper content.

So i am hoping that folks with a better handle on this machine can pass on along a little wisdom on this topic.  And maybe someone can even shed a little light on what the meaningfulness of the numbers are on the Equinox display.  (So far, I rely almost exclusively on audio signal).

Thanks all.

PS - the sign-a-graph and vdi numbers on my Whites DFX actually meant something and were very helpful for targeting decisions.

37 minutes ago, BMaxx said:

However, on the newer Canadian coins that are made of steel, the detector simply does not find them well at all.  We have set up rows of these newer Canadian coins on top of the soil and the detector hardly even "sees" them.  Numbers are all over the place and basically meaningless.  Even pinpointing is difficult.