Another Texan Joins The Forum!

PSPR

Hi, everyone.  I've been lurking around this forum for a month or so and decided I need to join.  There are a lot of Detector Pros here and I appreciate the advice they provide.

I'm not new to metal detecting but I'm far from an expert.  I actually bought my first Metal Detector back in the '70's or so.  It was a Metrotech!!  I doubt many here even know that name.  Here's a video of the device 

It just had a beep and a meter.  I used that detector on an off for many years to search parks and school yards in the Denver area.   I would have loved to go prospecting but the detectors back then weren't up to the task.   I recall it being very frustrating digging up all the junk I was finding in parks.  Sure, I found a few silver coins but nothing really exciting.  I remember once I located a silver dime spill in a school yard on their manicured lawn.  I dug out some of them then felt so bad about digging up the lawn that I just covered up the rest of them and never went back.  They are probably still there.  LOL   I don't think that detector went very deep, probably just a few inches if that.  Through the years I kept reading about Garrett and his progress with better and better detectors but my interest waned on metal detecting and I developed other interests.

Finally about 15 years ago the bug struck again.   I read about the great discriminating machines Minelab was making and bought an Explorer.  My bane has been the fact that pull tabs came up in about the same place jewelry was appearing.  It seemed all I was doing was digging up pull tabs and aluminum cans.  So, I bought the next iteration of the latest and greatest Minelab detector but still it seemed all I did was dig up aluminum.  So, I sold the new machine, kept the explorer and told myself I wasn't going to detect again until someone made a much better discrimination detector.