XP Deus V6 Update

phrunt

Looks like there is a V6 update for original Deus owners coming, only models built after 2018 will support it, and it will no longer support the older coils by the looks of it.

1555356212_UpdateforXPDeus.thumb.jpg.b708ce51933f527b1ab56c419398d648.jpg

It sounds like it ads WSAudio compatibility, which I have no idea what that is 🙂 I'm new to the Deus, but it sounds like all it ads is WS Audio, and cuts out the use of older coils. 

• Like 5

So Simon, with version 6 you can pair the ORX wireless headphones=WSAs with the Deus 1 full remote or the round WS4 controller. That couldn’t be done previously. The WSAs cost $99 new here in the USA. 

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

If the only change in the firmware is support for some headphones I'll never buy for the first time in my life I'll stick with an old version of firmware.  I don't like it cuts out the use of the older coils too, seems a bit odd they'd do that just to use some headphones.

• Like 2

8 hours ago, phrunt said:

If the only change in the firmware is support for some headphones I'll never buy for the first time in my life I'll stick with an old version of firmware.  I don't like it cuts out the use of the older coils too, seems a bit odd they'd do that just to use some headphones.

If a person just has the remote or the WS4 separately, updating and using the ORX type WSA would make an easy and inexpensive way to have paired wireless audio than buying a WS4 for the remote or the audio adapter and a different wireless system for the Deus Lite system. 

The WSAs were stock with the ORX which also can’t use the LF coils. 

This Deus 1 update looks like another way to obsolete the original LF coils.

Just from my own experience, the X35 coils were a lot more versatile than the original LF coils. 

• Like 4

• 1 month later...
On 11/30/2022 at 8:11 AM, Jeff McClendon said:

This Deus 1 update looks like another way to obsolete the original LF coils.