Hello I'm A Newbie Just Picked Up My First Detector A Equinox 800

saboken

Just saying hi, I'm as new as you can get to this hobby, my wife agreed to dropping the gran on a equinox 800 2 days ago 😀☺️ hopefully I find for cool stuff as we travel the USA. We started full time in a RV about a year ago to see the country as we retired. Hope to get some valuable information from the forum.  I've always wanted a detector and watched others use them from a distance. Now that I have one it's nothing like I thought lots to learn about the sounds etc . 

• Like 4

I am glad to see that you picked the best forum on the net by far, and hope to be reading of some of your adventures in the near future.

Please feel free to ask questions on the forums if you should need help.

Good luck and good hunting.

I also have a 800 and I find that it is one of the easiest detectors to use.

I use the factory setting and have found many nice items with those settings. I dig almost everything just so that I don't miss out on a gold ring or something better.

• Thanks 1

You probably have the 11 inch coil and that is what I used for most of my detecting. Silver is normally around 29 to 39 depending how big it is. The ground to hard, try a miners pick to loosen the ground.

You might have gold in your area and I have never been in that area so I can't tell you what it might ring up as.

• Thanks 1

5 minutes ago, Valens Legacy said:

You probably have the 11 inch coil and that is what I used for most of my detecting. Silver is normally around 29 to 39 depending how big it is. The ground to hard, try a miners pick to loosen the ground.

You might have gold in your area and I have never been in that area so I can't tell you what it might ring up as.