A Few Older Garretts

Added these to my growing museum collection.  I have never used these machines before.   I just like the old ones.  

I picked up 5 machines as a lot locally last year.   Nothing special, but they are just cool because they still work.

Only one of the crossfire coils worked.  I found a used 10" Hothead coil online for a little over 30 bucks shipped.  I will see how it works on these. 

Single tone machines, no pinpoint button, very simple.

Check out the original price tag on the GTA350 lol

crossfire.jpg

garettace.jpg

gta3501.jpg

gta3502.jpg

• Like 2

It is still fun to play around with the capabilities of older detectors.

• Like 1

that's awesome, I'm always on the lookout to buy an old detector, they just don't seem to exist in New Zealand.  I just want to experience what people did in the early days of detecting long before my time and I must admit I'm a bit of a collector 😛

19 hours ago, JCR said:

It is still fun to play around with the capabilities of older detectors.

Agreed!

Story time:

Over Easter weekend I was visiting family out-of-town and ran across a YouTuber dectectorist (bhiggles) in the field. I was so excited to meet him, but hadn't brought my detector(s) along since it was going to be just a short overnight trip. What I was able to do, however, was borrow my partner's dad's barely functional White's Coinmaster (series 2, I believe) and join in on the hunt. Didn't find anything, but it was fun turning on the old machine and learning to get it to squeal just right. Also, good company.

• Like 1