First 2 Dirt Hunts...very Promising!

Waiting for the rain to stop so I can get back out there. A couple more pics. As I lifted the plug up, the coin was at the bottom of the plug and dropped into the hole.

Only got fooled a few times by iron.

mantidirta.jpeg

mantidirtb.jpeg

mantidirtd.jpeg

• Like 6

That is some nice digging. Even the bigger iron could have been something interesting.

• Like 2

3 hours ago, JCR said:

That is some nice digging. Even the bigger iron could have been something interesting.

There are a lot of iron targets especially small ones. This is my first time hunting this spot so I'm somewhat cherry picking and trying to find boundaries where better finds might be. 

• Like 1

A couple of hours more produced one more coin and a button. Most everything is deep. Still can't read any dates.

I'm using a recovery speed of 3, sensitivity between 26 to 28, one region all tones.

mantidirt1c.jpeg

mantidirt1b.jpeg

mantidirt1d.jpeg

mantidirt1e.jpeg

• Like 3

I'm jealous. Guess I need to plan a trip to fix that. I've always wanted to find old stuff but never have tried. 

Good hunting. Now you have a few relics to add to your jewelry collection. 🙂

Nice finds!

I found an incised 'dandy' button exactly like the one in your second pic here in southern England - I wonder if they were made in the same place?

A very similar button was found in this area a few years ago: https://www.sussexexpress.co.uk/heritage-and-retro/retro/pictures-from-the-big-dig-in-petworth-park-in-august-2015-which-uncovered-some-exciting-finds-4010584?page=2

1 hour ago, TampaBayBrad said:

I'm jealous. Guess I need to plan a trip to fix that. I've always wanted to find old stuff but never have tried. 

Good hunting. Now you have a few relics to add to your jewelry collection. 🙂