Whats The Gold Grade 24k? Of Most Nuggets Found These Days Around Globe?

Sittn here thinking about my "test" nugget 2.7 gram chunky solid bit I "bought off ebay to test my GB2/gpx45/sdc23 with.....I'm a newbie ' but have watched nuggetdiggs" on youtube . and watched thousands" of vids in 9 years! Thats Alot of Gold coming out of the ground! But it never crossed my Mind till tonite......Whats the Grade??? And how does the Western US compare to Australia, Alaska, Africa? My little noug' looks light yellow slightly silvery  14k-16k i'd guess  supposed to been found w/ a metal detector in,Nor.Cal. "Must be Dale's Hands from Goldhounds ...Made it myscreensaver " last nite! Is All gold mostly higher grade than what i got for $165 shipped off ebay?.........just wondering? Thanks from central Idaho-JD

• Like 1

Over here in Ireland they range from 21k to 23k depending on where they are found. The ones found in the stream beds are higher than ones found in fields around because the "other metals" alloyed in it get leached out over thousands of years.

• Like 1

I have nuggets from .956 to less than .800. But I have to ask what difference does it make when it comes to nugget hunting? If you are selling nugget gold, the price is more dependent on size and character than purity. My last sale to a refiner was .860 which is probably a bit above average. Ringmny is right on about impurities leaching out of a nugget. A scratch test my show a higher purity on the outside than what the nugget may actually be inside.

• Like 1

The mining world does not usually use the karat scale when talking about gold purity. Gold is discussed in terms of "fineness". The scale runs from 0 - 1000. For example, gold might be said to be 830 fine, which is the same as 83% gold. 842 fine would be 84.2% gold. There being no such thing as absolutely pure gold gold bars will be stamped 999.99 fine.