Minelab SDC 2300 Thoughts...

Hello,

I was reading on another gold prospecting forum, a fellow was concerned about how robust the articulating coil connection might be on the new Minelab SDC 2300 metal detector, as well as some questions I have come up with, in regard to that detector.

I will continue that first thought here, rather than possibly compromise a potential sale by a reader of a forum, whose owner might be a Minelab dealer.

With regard to the coil's articulating joint:  I have no technical knowledge that would tell me how robust/water resistance that moveable joint might be or have, nor the longevity of such a joint, with respect to its electrical conductivity life expectancy.  I would think that the Minelab people had the same questions when the design was put forth for production, so I don't know why it should be a big secret for end users to know about, after all, it is a pretty penny to buy the machine, and you sure don't want it to go south on you right when the warranty expires, or even before for that matter...

My experience with the early Minelab XT's, was that there could have been a better way that would constrain that battery pack and limit it's ability to bang around within the confines of the control box. Plus, now that I think of it the battery box door was subject to falling out, and being lost, as an aside...