Ok, I'm a newb, and maybe a bit impressionable, but this really caught my attention. It's a long video by Doc of Gold Hog, but if you jump to about 20:00 you'll just see it in action to see for yourself. It's essentially a small short sluice that is hand operated. He processes a bucket in less time that it took me to do one pan (first day of panning). I figure this is a good way to run some material quickly, without the sluice. 

I'm just beginning and hope this isn't a hoax, but it sure looks to make a lot of sense. Maybe someday I'll have a dredge or high banker, but this sure beats the pan for concentrating and suits my budget.

Hope you enjoy the vid as much as I did!

• Like 2

Ummmm. What video?

As to panning and the time it takes there are a number of techniques and pans that will let you do short work of a good amount of material.

There is no reason to take more than a couple minutes per pan ... and depending on a few factors you should be able to do a pan in about 30 seconds.

Production panning can be done in an area where water is not adequate to run a sluice. Basically you will load the classifier and classify the shovel load of material into your pan, then with aggressive action you will reduce that pan full of material down to about 1/4  to 1/8 .... That's as far as you take that. You can either load the pan again with more classified material and pan that down and repeat or you can just empty that into a bucket and then reduce that again later... when you are done you should only have about a quart or less of concentrates from 25 gallons of raw material.....