phrunt

Gold Bug Pro Coil Options For Gold Prospecting

Hello,

I have purchased 2 Gold Bug Pro's and an original T2 which I want to use for Gold Prospecting, I am new to metal detecting but my wife and I decided we would give it a go.  There is a local gold fossicking area around where we live and we bought a sluice and gold pan and have found quite a bit of tiny gold in the couple of times we have used the pans and sluice.   The tiny gold seems too small for a metal detector to pick up, well any of my metal detectors anyway.

I have the 5" coil for the T2 and a Mars Tiger along with the standard 11" coil, so which of those coils do you think will be best to find small gold nuggets?

For the Gold Bug Pro's I have a Nel Snake, a Cors Fortune and the 10" Fisher coil, 5" standard coil and 11" standard coil.  Which coils should I put on the Gold Bugs? 

Thanks for the help, I clearly have a lot of work ahead of me to work out how to use the metal detectors well to find these tiny gold nuggets but i've been doing a lot of research and have read Dave's Book.

Smaller coils are usually more sensitive to small Gold.  Get some gold or cut up some tiny pieces of lead and test your different coils.. 

Bryan

Thanks, It does seem smaller is better but then I read conflicting things, such as the Gold Bug Pro with 10" seems very popular compared to the 5".  Does that mean the 10" can pick up that tiny gold as well as the 5" or do people just mainly hunt for bigger nuggets? I don't care what nugget size, a find is a find to me, I'd be happy if a found tiny stuff.

Like Cabin Fever said, smaller coils create a smaller, more powerful magnetic field that both gives a sharper signal on small stuff while also "seeing" less mineralized soil. There is also the obvious - large coils cover more ground faster. And the final part of the puzzle, small gold is far , far more common than large gold.