Area I'm Detecting

billdean

I have a new GM 1000. I have never done any detecting for gold before and could use some help deciphering the area I am detecting in. I have been reading mining reports that say this area has a lot of shallow gold in it but after few days of detecting (total 15 hours) all I have is bullets, bird shot, tin foil, tin cans and a few magnetized rocks I have found. I am not sure I am detecting in the right type area? I have been concentrating on the deeper washes in Sw Arizona. I have attached some pics of the area. Maybe I should try higher ground. Just getting a little discouraged and need some help on the type of area I should be looking for. Do my areas look ok?

IMG_0261.JPG

IMG_0265.JPG

• Like 1

Maybe try to get into the bedrock cracks and fissures. Get off of the wash bottom and try the benches on the sides. Also look for any drywash piles, or any stacked rock or un natural landscape. Persistence will pay off. Use slow coil speed and control. And learn to trust your detector.

• Like 4

G,day  Billdean 

I would double up on what JW and Sourdough have expressed about finding shallower areas of bedrock that are  covered with minimum overburden to give your monster every chance of finding smaller pieces of alluvial gold .The GM is not a deep seeking detector so you need to get the coil as close as you can down amongst the cracks where the gold will lodge . You may need to use fairly high sensitivity levels if that’s possible without getting to much ground noise and falsing .Your other option is to look for the reefs shedding the gold in these areas and see if you can get some of the drift deposits between reef and the watercourse , I have found some gold like this with the gold monster including a nice 2 grammer .Some general hints I can give you for operating the GM are 

(1) when nugget hunting in any but the mildest soil conditions don’t put much stock in the accuracy of the discrimination graph .