phrunt

GM1000 Kept Making Siren Noise On Gold Bearing Creek

Two Questions with two different creeks, both are freshwater inland mountain fed creeks about 25 minutes or so drive from each other.

Creek #1

So I went to an alternative creek to my usual spot today to do some exploring, my GM1000 wasn't behaving at all there, I was unable to use it, I'm unsure if it was because I'm an unlicensed driver of the thing and was operating it incorrectly or if it couldn't handle the ground.  I tried JP's ground balancing method numerous times to calm it down and I tried running it on Sensitivity 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ,7, 8, 9, 10, Auto and Auto+, All metal and discriminate in all the sensitivity levels, nothing made a difference I would still constantly get this Siren sound when I was swinging around.  I've attached a link to a Youtube video showing the issue.  I thought the siren sound was when it was overloaded such as when you put it up next to a big chunk of metal (the same noise happens on my daughters Go-Find 40 when it goes near big bits of metal and at this creek as she has tried it before here and was unusable due to the siren constantly going off) so I dug the area of some of the siren noises, Couldn't find any metal at all with the naked eye, certainly not giant bit's that I would expect would set off the siren noise.  I didn't find one bit of junk at the location.  The other odd thing is a majority of the time the Gold Chance indicator was indicating it was a non-ferrous target that was causing the siren noise, usually all the way over to the Gold side, you'll see in the video no doubt.  I knew I hadn't found a nugget the size of a baseball, so what on earth was causing it!