Why Meteorites?

Sorry for a maybe dumb question, but just what is the draw of meteorites?  I understand that it is unique and interesting but is there any other reasoning?  I am not saying monetary returns but more like registeries or some acknowledgment of finds etc?  Again I apologize for this if dumb.  I mainly got interested in detectors for gold as I am getting a little fragile with age and no longer play like mountain goats.  I am brand new to detecting but just from reading this forum I have decided coin, beach, jewelry hunting may fit me also.  I understand relics and "old" items from history.  But rocks from space?  Now if they were large enough to mine that another story, but I would want to find it here on earth unless it fell ages ago.  A dinosaur didn't like theirs. LOL  Thanks, Dan

Sorry again, I forgot to ask if anyone could point out a couple of threads that would help educate me on this subject.  Thank you for your patience.  As a gold panner, I have so far been pretty much skunked, so I have a lot to learn about all these topics.  Have a great day.  Daniel

Daniel;

Holding a piece of the beginning of the Solar System is amazing...that is the attraction for me.

Bill Southern has a very active Meteorite Forum...

If you read the other posts on this forum you will get a good start.

Rocks From Space by O. Richard Norton is an excellent primer.

fred

• Like 2

For most detectorists it is simply the thrill of the hunt, and finding something that is challenging to find. And personally I don't see how anyone would not be excited to find a rock that fell out of the sky!

Yes, finds, if recorded properly, can be registered and added to the worldwide database of knowledge regarding meteorites. And finally, some finds can be worth a lot of money. Meteorites normally sell by the gram. Large finds can be worth a small fortune....

http://www.foxnews.com/science/2018/02/16/arizona-meteorite-fetches-record-breaking-237500-at-auction.html

• Like 1