kiwijw

Simon & I Go For An E-bike Mission

A fun adventure with a little gold to show; can't go wrong with that. Better luck next time, Simon!

• Thanks 2

JW,

Well told.  We'll get Simon's perspective I'm sure.

Mitchel

• Haha 2

It was a good day, I almost died of exhaustion though, mainly because of this crazy hot air blowing over from the West State of NZ making us cook.  We need to be the ones building a wall to stop all the hot air!   I don't handle heat well, it zaps my energy.  I managed to get my feet wet a few times too, from crossing creeks and so on, then my own feet decided they'd wet themselves constantly all day so I got myself a few blisters.

I should mention the Ebiking 🙂 The bikes are great, they take a lot of effort out of riding, especially uphill.  The ride in is like the worlds deadliest road, you're on a little rocky track with a sheer drop on one side down to a creek in a gully and the track is skinny, very skinny, I'm no expert mountain biker so I took it a fair bit slower than JW, especially on the way down, going up is naturally slow as its uphill but going down he's a maniac, full speed down this skinny little track.  That's why I have such a big smile in the photos on the bike... I made it down alive 🙂

The gold search in this area although obviously not riddled with gold is pleasant as there isn't much junk around at all, mostly just old miners stuff like boot tacks and so on so any signal is worth digging. 

I was getting a lot of grief with my 14x9 EVO, it was going nuts on my legs when I was walking, it was picking up my pick holder and SP01 on my belt also.  The coil is just so sensitive and because we were mostly detecting hillsides I kept setting it off and it was driving me nuts.  Turns out I'd bumped some settings by accident and that had made the situation worse but I didn't realize on the day so I went all day with it nutting off on every step I took as it was detecting pocket zippers I guess on my shorts.