Minelab CTX 3030 Sounds

I have been using my 3030 for almost 2 years now and I still only use Smooth for the sound.  It is quite good but sometimes it 'balances out' or becomes difficult to get it to repeat consistently.

Recently I have been reading about some CTX programs for download and others use Pitch Hold.  I tried it last night and it was just so odd.  The threshold goes to a different sound and pitch, the volume goes to a lower level and I have a hard time hearing the target.

After this I tried Normal and it makes me wonder how someone can use this also.

Long is close to smooth.

The difference is so much and unusable to me that I think I must send it in for repair.  Before I do that I will have a friend come over and compare my sounds to his.

Does anyone else have problems with these sound settings?

Mitchel

(All of this makes me want to get my hearing checked!)

Fred,

I have started my hearing test online.  It says that I have trouble hearing in a noisy situation.  Another test tells me the frequencies that are difficult for me to hear.  I wonder if it is those tones on the 3030?

For those of you with similar difficulty or even if you don't here are a couple of tests that I took.

Here is the best test I have found so far.  It tests for frequencies you can hear.  I took it with some headphones so that may have some effect.  If you don't have good headphones or good speakers on your computer it will affect your test.

http://myhearingtest.net/

This test is like several I found which test your ability to hear in noisy situations.

http://www.hear-the-world.com/en/hearing-and-hearing-loss/online-hearing-test.html?gclid=CjwKEAjwnKCrBRCm1YuPrtWW0QMSJAC-5UYk7JIik7Cmx1rn4vXJ9dIcYCSWvgMyiEPyykAdcT4EVxoCksXw_wcB

This one wants to get your email to tell you that you have trouble hearing in a noisy area ...

http://www.beltonehearingtest.com/us/

Who has a link to a better test?

What have you done to modify your detector to hear it better?