Any Tips For Digging Clad?

KDX

I live in Canada so clad is the common coin here. I'm new to the Manticore (about 3-4 hours use so far) and would be considered an amateur detectorist by the regulars here. This afternoon I went out in the back yard and made a small test garden. I buried a zinc penny, a nickle, dime, quarter, loonie, toonie and a silver dime at 3 foot intervals. There are all down about 4-5 inches. I had to have the sensitivity down to 16 or else I was getting a fair amount of chatter. Using all terrain general I found (with my limited testing) that I had to have the recovery at 2 to get a repeatable signal on the clad coins. If I went up to 4 or higher the numbers and trace would be all over the place. Any tips or tricks would be appreciated.

Are you ground balancing by holding the GB button down and pumping the coil or just a single press or tracking? Did you long press the noise cancel at least 2' above ground until it settles on a single channel before setting sens.?

Some soil may not allow sens to go higher than 16 without chatter, but some people handle more chatter better than others. Not sure where you stand when you say a fair amount of chatter. I don't mind some, but think my amount may bother others if listened to long enough. (ear fatigue)

If you have power lines around your back yard or anything else that could cause EMI.....try a different location out in a field somewhere away from EMI sources with the same settings and see if the chatter lessens.

All told, 16 sens is not too bad a spot to go hunting with. (could be better, but ok.) I can run 4 recovery and get repeats on most good targets, changing maybe 1 or 2 digits is normal for me. But.... I run Beach programs only.

I'm finding the Manticore a fantastic coin cherry picking machine.  But I'd hesitate to suggest settings.  Not only your soil may be very different, but your ferrous coins are something I've zero experience trying to cherry pick.