Help ID Mineral

Ilmenite, maybe? Titanium iron oxide. Not sure if ilmenite is magnetic.

Jim

Ilmenite is weakly magnetic.

I am a chemist and I've conducted tests available to me at home to eliminate factors; properties like 🧲 . It's very dense, conducts heat and electricity poorly. 

It's shiny and solid through-and-through. I drilled one hole about 1/2 inch, kind of hoping it might just split.

It was given to me with some absurd story it being from the Moon.

The shiny chunk keeps resurfacing so I better have it tested properly.

• Like 1

Do a specific gravity test. Did it smell like sulfur when you drilled it? Hardness? Streak color?

I'd guess galena offhand but it seems to lack the typical cleavage planes, but you know how to do the basic tests to ID it, need those results otherwise it could be a lot of things based off the info/pics here. 

• Like 2

Have you tried a streak test, or is it harder than a porcelain tile?  What color were the cuttings when you drilled it?  Can you grind and polish a small window?  The fact it conducts heat/electricity poorly makes me think it is likely more mineral in composition, and less likely elemental metal.

Galena and massive stibnite would both be relatively soft and would leave a streak.  Hematite would be harder, but will still leave a streak.

The rock would shatter a porcelain tile and remain whole. Persons that stumble upon the rock often ask 'is that titanium?' 

There was no sulfuric odor or any particular one that I noticed.

Color, composition appear consistent throughout. With a proper machine it took the edge off a 5.5-6 mach reinforced steel drill bit and did not bother the rock. The grounds could not produce a smear. 

Fine grounds from the rock ought to be used to polish a window.

I thought the same, that it's some mineral composition and not a elemental metal. 

I'll do a specific g test.