I am not an expert on Chinese cash coins but I will give it a shot. Feel free to correct me. Apparently, the Chinese miners in the goldfields traded for supplies with Chinese merchants using a variety of Chinese cash coins; 1-wen, 10-wen, 1000-wen. I beleive 1,000 wen equal an ounce of silver. This coin may be either copper or bronze.

I think this coin is a Kangxi Tongboa 1-wen minted from 1661-1722 during for the rule of the 3rd Emperor of the Qing Dynasty, Kangxi; 

coin3a.jpg.fd2404177454cf21a68366639c3db120.jpg

I have no idea what the symbol on this side mean.

coin3b.jpg.c6ec7c234e319ac3510bb32d3567c0dd.jpg

• Like 7

I believe this Chinese cash coin to be a Qianlong Tongbao minted 1735 to 1796 for the 5th Emperor of the Qian Dynasty. The currency symbols were different for Universal, Original & Heavy.

coin2a.jpg.935b808d08dc3ac2b724e0083cf34b4f.jpg

coin1b.jpg.6f3364ccc3099a290cb636bf391180c0.jpgthis 

• Like 2

They sure lost a few.  I have dug a lot of them in the Mother Lode.  

• Like 1

1 minute ago, CVISChris said:

I have dug a lot of them in the Mother Lode.

One had a rolled piece of beveled metal inserted in the square hole; for stacking the coins? From what I read the Chinese would string the coins up a thousand 1-wen pieces. Apparently the string would often break during placering operations. 

• Like 2

From the web: How to ID Chinese cash coins.

First read the symbol at the “top” of coin then combine with the “bottom” symbol for Period: Dynasty/ Emperor.

Second read the symbol on the “right” of the coin then combine with the symbol on the “left” for currency*

*The “bao” symbol is the usually on the “left” meaning currency, the right symbol will be either Universal, Original or Heavy.

Use the web Chinese cash coin “photos” to determine top from bottom, front from back.