Simultaneous Multi Frequency

HerrUU

I'm trying to figure out how SMF actually works. I get that the detector sends an electromagnetic signal through the coil and that it does so on multiple frequencies. But what I'm wondering is how it does this?

Does it send all frequencies through the coil at once and analyse the returned signal at once, or does it send the frequencies one by one in a rapid succession and analyse each return signal separately? The latter seems the more logical to me but I'm not an engineer. 

• Like 1

So, this technology is called Simultaneous Multi Frequency. It isn't called alternating multi frequency.

I realize "simultaneous" may not be simultaneous when we are talking about fractions of nano seconds but for my purposes that word works for me.

• Like 1

Technically, it's sequential, but so fast that it's not a stretch to call it simultaneous. Although the detector is combining the signal of each transmitted frequency, so I guess it's true simultaneous when it comes to the processing.

Locator,

I skimmed through your link, and it looks very interesting. Thanks 🙂

• Thanks 1

33 minutes ago, Digalicious said:

Technically, it's sequential, but so fast that it's not a stretch to call it simultaneous.