Newbie From Central Georgia

LoneOutpost

Hey everbody,

I'm new to the hobby and just getting my feet wet with my Nokta Legend. I'm learning how restrictive Georgia laws are with respect to metal detecting. Fortunately I've got a big yard. 🙂Looking for good places where I can do some digging. I'm excited to learn more about my machine and start finding some real finds.

Welcome to the forum as we are always looking forward to hearing from new people about their finds.

I am sure that someone here can help you with the laws of your state or your local laws.

I usually get permission from some farm owners to hunt on their properties, look at old maps just to find old parks or schools, and then I start detecting those areas when I have time to get out.

Good luck and good hunting.

Welcome to the forum!

The Legend seems like a really good detector. 🙂 It takes a while to get used to all the control, so don't get frustrated with it if you don't have a lot of experience.

I'll expand on what Valens Legacy wrote, if you have any farms near you (you mention a big yard so you're possibly in a rural setting), a great thing to do is try to catch the farmer out working, compliment the place and listen to them talk about it. Be patient and very interested, and when you get a chance ask the farmer if you could metal detect their farm after the crops are taken up. Farms have been handed down for hundreds of years and have many surprises from their use over time. Fairs, horse racing, other gatherings occurred on some of the more wealthy Southern plantations.