Nox Series 10x5 Instability

Wh1sk3y

Hi all long time lurker this my first post. I bought a used 800 with 3 coils, 6 inch 10x5 coiltek and the stock 11 inch. I'm having problems getting the 10x5 to settle down in gold mode, it constantly throws 1 and 2 id numbers. This only happens in multi and 40 kHz. 20 l kHz is smooth as can be. Do I need to turn the sensitivity down? At 17 it'll kind of behave but I feel I'm losing depth and sensitivity. Any tips or tricks?

My experience thus far with the 10x5 coil is that it is very sensitive. I usually use it in multi and have not tried it in 20 or 40hz as yet. I am by no means an expert here but while I was experimenting with it I found that you have to turn the sensitivity down to like 15 or lower to quiet it down. It also depends on the ground you are using it in. Here in Nevada the ground is highly mineralized thus the lower sensitivity. Also turn your recovery speed down to like 4 or 5 and go low and slow on the ground. All this must have confused you a bit and as a novice with this coil I apologize. I mainly use the 6" coil as I have found more gold with it. Hope any of this helps.

On 8/21/2023 at 6:50 PM, Wh1sk3y said:

Any tips or tricks?

When changing coils always do a factory reset after putting the new coil on.

I run my 10x5 on my 800 at a point between 15 to 18 on the sensitivity depending on the ground. I always turn off the cell phone as it has caused me problems with it in the past.

I have used the factory settings and have not had many problems with the 800 doing what it is designed to do.

Hope this helps and good hunting.

It to me sounds like you're in quite mineralised ground, the bigger the coil the more ground it sees hence the need for lower sensitivity so you're more than likely able to run the 6" a bit hotter, how does the 11" perform in the same scenario? Can you run it higher sensitivity than you can the 10x5"?