Garrett Axiom Compatible X-coils

phrunt

Detech were considering making Axiom coils also...no doubt these will be half the cost of the Kazakh coils. Just a matter of who does what, when. Good to see someone has made a start though...

• Like 5

Can someone explain what makes the X Coils so good, and what does DOD stand for ??

just trying to learn since I am new to the Axiom

1 hour ago, phrunt said:

The windings of a ᗡOD are much like the letters, there is an inner transmit winding which is the O in ᗡOD, and the two outer D windings which are the receive windings in the OD

So, it's not a Mono, Concentric and not a traditional DD coil. 

A similar type coil is used with the GPZ except on the Axiom the design allows for using discrimination.

As for what makes X-coils so good for me it's they are able to make the size and type of coils that benefit me, types that have been said can't be done are done, and they have the freedom to do the designs they want to do. 

They mostly make spiral wound coils which are often the most sensitive type rather than the more traditional bundle wound coils.   Even their coil cables are made in-house with the shielding they want to use and not just off the shelf cables so they can make everything to their own specifications.

In this case because Garrett didn't security chip their coils and allowed aftermarket manufacturers to make coils for the detector, I think we will end up seeing very good things happen with the Axiom over time and this little 8" is just the start but a very good start.  

They've said it's a very sensitive coil, I really like this size on my GPZ it's super sensitive coil on that detector so hopefully once they start to appear we can all hear some feedback from new owners as to what they think of it.