Understanding Threshold

First off I have watched several youtube explanations of threshold. I think as a noob, I am missing something.  I just don’t really see the usefulness of more tones to listen to and process. Am I right in understanding a break in threshold is the same as an iron grunt?  Can someone who uses threshold explain the benefit?

A break in a threshold is just a break in a threshold. It can happen for numerous reasons, ferrous, non-ferrous, EMI, ground mineral…. all it really means is possibly something to investigate depending on the detector and the exact circumstances.

• Like 4

The latest detectors have reference and live thresholds.

Reference thresholds will go silent over a target with a target ID that is being discriminated out or rejected. For people that don't want to hear for example, a lot of iron grunt audio, rejecting the iron target IDs and turning up the reference threshold volume level will help to alert them to ferrous or mixed ferrous/non ferrous targets without a lot of audio racket.

Live thresholds can boost actual target signal intensity and audio volume especially on borderline targets that are close to giving really weak audio responses.

• Like 5

42 minutes ago, AhNibblet said:

First off I have watched several youtube explanations of threshold. I think as a noob, I am missing something.

Second off>>

Not all thresholds are created equal. Not many machines work like a Sovereign GT.  

It will take some experimentation regardless of the machine! 

40 minutes ago, Jeff McClendon said:

Live thresholds can boost actual target signal intensity and audio volume especially on borderline targets

YET>>>there are new machines produced today that cannot do this. 

5 hours ago, midalake said:

Segundo apagado >>

No todos los umbrales son iguales. No muchas máquinas funcionan como un Sovereign GT.  

¡Tomará algo de experimentación independientemente de la máquina! 

Eleanor !!!.