Hello, Can anyone tell me if this is a meteorite? It is the first “possible” meteorite I have found, so excuse me if this sounds somewhat ignorant.

I found it on the coast in DownEast, Maine. I did the only tests I know of, which are magnet and porcelain; it is magnetic and does not mark unglazed porcelain. It weighs 6.5 oz. Help.

Thank you for your input!

3A6C6775-2B42-40A1-8B81-3D771EF72666.jpeg

9FD0B6F1-E203-4095-B6AE-968D61245CB7.jpeg

6458EB9F-CFC8-44BD-9ECC-32425E807305.jpeg

064D064A-9C76-4F76-AB7F-6191B9AD50B1.jpeg

16CC9114-F8D5-48C7-8166-84EB9EFB55D9.jpeg

091DE326-F6EB-4F19-B437-3997562263C5.jpeg

656308EF-C3CC-4EE4-984D-6A37A5789812.jpeg

Only way to know for sure, is to cut a small piece off and send to a place that can tell for sure.  Good luck, you might have a good one.

Not that I am a meteorite expert but I am not seeing any reason why this would be a suspect meteorite. Zero sign of a fusion crust, just looks like a common rock to me.

save your money...I don't see any indication of it being a meteorite.

You might grind down an edge to check for chondules and nickel flecks...

not likely

fred

I don't know much about rocks from deep within the earth, but that looks like a garnet-rich rock from the lower crust or upper mantle.

• Like 1

Thank you all for your help.

It turns out that it is just a nasty old rock. I figured it out when I found another one on the beach today. Oh well, I’ll keep trying!

Thanks again.

Oldmancoyote may have a point, does look a bit like eclogite

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Similar Content

• By nordic
      Perhaps not enough information, but how does it look to you?
      It's about 15mm in size.
      Thanks in advance

• By Lunk
      https://www.tellerreport.com/news/2019-12-25---the-meteorite-that-fell-on-christmas-eve-.r1wJLAlJL.html