When Finding Bigger Gold, Is It Best To Not Show It Off?

I get to share many more stories, photos and sometimes videos of amazing gold discoveries than the average person, mostly do to the fact I sell metal detectors and my customers are usually happy to share their Success stories.

On occasion I get to see some finds that I can never show or share as the finder has asked that of me.  Boy has there been some crazy amounts of gold being recovered with detectors still.  Sure wish I could tell you all but I'd then piss off some of those who take me for my word and I'd prefer not to lose that friendship.

My question is, what do you folks do when you find something substantial?  Is it best to keep amongst your few inner circle or is it ok to let everyone know?

Yes I want to share MD'ing finds as I sell detectors for a living, but also, I have personally been walked over for giving out to much info.  I try to walk a fine line and keep everyone happy, if it's possible.

I myself have been fortunate and found a few trophies and even caught a couple on video, but after viewing the video, realized the video could cause a mini gold rush.  

Do you share and tell all or keep most of your finds to yourself?

I really don't think there is a right/wrong answer?

Thanks for your input.

• Like 3

Hi Gerry

Over the years starting back in 65 I hunted alone. I never told what I found are the location I was hunting.

I’ve enjoyed all the show and tells you have shown on the forum but for myself I’m still reluctant to do so .

I guess you could say it’s hard for a old dog to learn are do new tricks.

When I see someone with all the rings they found I just say been there done that .

Again thanks for the show and tell .

Chuck 

• Like 4